Ekiti Dot Com Website
Ekiti Dot Com Web Site
Most Recently Commented On News
Most Recently Uploaded News on ekiti.com
Òwe lesin òrò...
Ekiti News Reports
[ LATEST ] ... | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | ... [ SEARCH ]
Alleged murder: Oni storms court in solidarity with Apc members on trial  (The Nation 08/07/2017) Ekiti alleges plan by DSS to accuse Fayose of insurgency  (ZZ-Please See URL  - 07/07/2017)
Fayose mourns  (The Nation  - 06/07/2017) Ekiti 2018: Don’t rely on federal gov’t to win, Osinkolu tells APC  (ZZ-Please See URL  - 05/07/2017)
Why Aisha Buhari Hurried To UK – Fayose  (ZZ-Please See URL  - 05/07/2017) Ekiti Govt Warns Residents Against Building Houses On Waterways  (ZZ-Please See URL  - 05/07/2017)
Ekiti cabinet sacking: We saw it coming – Ex-commissioners  (ZZ-Please See URL  - 05/07/2017) Kidnappers getting victims through social media – Don  (Punch  - 04/07/2017)
Fayose sacks all his commissioners  (Nigerian Tribune  - 03/07/2017) Ekiti APC chief decries high unemployment rate in state  (Nigerian Tribune  - 03/07/2017)

Alleged murder: Oni storms court in solidarity with Apc members on trial
Source: The Nation ekiti.com News Section:  Ekiti Date: Saturday, July 08, 2017


Posted By: Odunayo Ogunmola, Ado-Ekiti

Former Governor Ekiti State and All Progressives Congress (APC) Deputy National Chairman (South), Chief Segun Oni, on Friday stormed the State High Court in Ado-Ekiti in solidarity with seven party members standing trial for alleged complicity in the murder of former National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW) Chairman Omolafe Aderiye.

Oni, whose appearance caught party loyalists and family members unawares, entered the High Court 6 where the case was being heard by Justice Lekan Ogunmoye at about 9. 40 am when lawyers were locked in hot argument over failure of the prosecution to bring witnesses to give evidence.

There was a massive security build-up within and outside the court premises but Oni’s arrival at the gate elicited applause by party members who saw him before he made his way into the courtroom.

The former governor who is also a governorship aspirant on the platform of his party ahead of the 2018 election, arrived the court with members of his campaign organisation and supporters.

APC members on trial are Adebayo Aderiye (1st defendant), Adeniyi Adedipe (2nd), Sola Durodola (3rd), Ajayi Kayode (4th), Oso Farotimi (5th), Sola Adenijo (6th) and Rotimi Olanbiwonnu (7th).

Justice Ogunmoye was not happy with the prosecution counsel, Ahmed Tafa, for not bringing his witnesses to court as promised on the last day of sitting which he described as a “deliberate action.”

Tafa alleged that one of his witnesses, Yinka Aderiye, was attacked by unknown persons producing the picture and police extract where the incident was reported.

Defence lawyers, Abiodun Fasakin (representing 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th defendants), Lekan Olatawura (5th and 7th) and Adetunji Oso (6th) faulted the documents on the ground that the police document was a photocopy while Yinka, in the picture appeared not to be injured.

Oso alleged that Yinka appeared in the photograph “to be changing clothes at a scene location” while Olatawura urged the court to invoke a bench warrant to bring the witnesses. Fasakin accused the

prosecution of resorting to delay tactics.

Defence counsel accused the prosecution of a deliberate plot to keep the defendants in prison custody perpetually, and urged the court to consider their bail.

0 Comments || e-Mail to Friends Share on FacebookShare On Facebook

Ekiti Dot Com
2001 - © Copyright UniQue Solutions Int'l Ltd (Nigeria) & UniQue Systems Int'l Inc (Canada)